... 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ...
News/Special Offers
About ECM

Evan Parker
The Transatlantic Art Ensemble

Evan Parker soprano saxophone
Roscoe Mitchell alto and soprano saxophones
Anders Svanoe alto saxophone
John Rangecroft clarinet
Neil Metcalfe flute
Corey Wilkes trumpet, flugelhorn
Nils Bultmann viola
Philipp Wachsmann violin
Marcio Mattos cello
Craig Taborn piano
Jaribu Shahid double-bass
Barry Guy double-bass
Tanni Tabbal drums, percussion
Paul Lytton drums, percussion
Furrow 1
Furrow 2
Furrow 3
Furrow 4
Furrow 5
Furrow 6

Recorded September 2004
ECM 1873

Order CD

Evan Parker and Roscoe Mitchell co-founded the Transatlantic Art Ensemble in 2004. The ensemble’s account of Mitchell’s “Composition/Improvisation Nos. 1, 2 & 3” was issued by ECM to critical acclaim (including an album-of-the-year award from France’s Jazzman). “Boustrophedon”, featuring Evan Parker’s music, is the companion volume. Like nothing else in Parker’s discography it features him as composer-conductor, guiding the transatlantic instrumental forces into chamber orchestral territory “somewhere between Gil Evans and Luigi Nono”. There is also, amongst many highlights, some transcendent saxophone playing – from both Parker and Mitchell. Recorded live in Munich.