... 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 ...
News/Special Offers
About ECM

Roscoe Mitchell
The Note Factory
Far Side

Roscoe Mitchell saxophones, flutes
Corey Wilkes trumpet, flugelhorn
Craig Taborn piano
Vijay Iyer piano
Harrison Bankhead cello, double-bass
Jaribu Shahid double-bass
Tanni Tabbal drums
Vincent Davis drums
Far Side/Cards/Far Side
Quintet 2007 A For Eight
Trio Four For Eight
Ex Flover Five

Recorded March 2007

ECM 2087

Order CD

Live at the Burghausen Jazz Festival 2007. One of the great conceptualists and musical architects of the post-Coltrane era with his band of paired instrumentalists. Two drummers, two bassists, two terrific pianists, and the composer himself and young AACM lion Corey Wilkes out front. Roscoe’s writing for the group is by turns complex and rigorously-controlled and freewheeling and wide open, with space for interaction and strong solos.