... 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 ...
News/Special Offers
About ECM

Sinikka Langeland
The Land That Is Not

Sinikka Langeland vocal, kantele
Arve Henriksen trumpet
Trygve Seim soprano and tenor saxophones
Anders Jormin double-bass
Markku Ounaskari drums
The Land That Is Not
What Is Tomorrow
A Strip Of Sea
Triumph Of Being
The River Murmurs
Lucky Cat
It’s The Dream
The Day Cools
The Rose
Spring In The Mountain
Slowly The Truth Dawns

Recorded September 2010

ECM 2210

Order CD

Further adventures at the interstices of folk music and jazz-rooted improvisation, as Sinikka Langeland takes the work begun on the much praised “Starflowers” to the next level. As the Irish Times’s Ray Comiskey noted of the earlier disc: “Sinikka Langeland is a gifted folk singer, but not one stifled by tradition. Her ability to work seamlessly with jazz musicians, as she does so memorably here, is part of the reason for the success of this marriage of folk, jazz and poetry. (…) Individually and collectively, the quintet is superb, Henriksen and Seim play brilliantly off the voice and each other, while the group catches a variety of moods persuasively; they can groove with understated power (…)” All of this applies with equal pertinence to “The Land That Is Not”.