News/Special Offers
About ECM

Selected Signs III - VIII

Music selected for the exhibition ECM – A Cultural Archaeology at Haus der Kunst, Munich

CD 1

Heiner Goebbels / Heiner Müller
In einem alten Fahrstuhl
Steve Reich
Music for 18 Musicians [excerpt]
Arvo Pärt
Fratres (for violin and piano)
Tabula Rasa: I. Ludus
György Kurtág
Játékok: Aus der Ferne
György Kurtág (Arr.) / J.S.Bach
Gottes Zeit ist die allerbeste Zeit
Tigran Mansurian
Betty Olivero
Neharót Neharót [excerpt]
Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach
Fantasie für Klavier fis-Moll
Joseph Haydn
The Seven Last Words of our Saviour on the Cross: IV. Largo
River (Soundscape)
Meredith Monk
Scared Song
Heiner Goebbels / Heiner Müller
Der Chef

CD 2

Heiner Goebbels (Arr.) / Bertolt Brecht / Hanns Eisler
Hörstück II („Ich möchte Ihnen einen Vorschlag machen…“) / Kleine Passacaglia / Über den Selbstmord
Giya Kancheli
Vom Winde beweint: I. Largo molto
John Tavener
Funeral Canticle [excerpt]
Dmitri Shostakovich
String Quartet No.15: I. Elegy
Arvo Pärt / The Hilliard Ensemble
Most Holy Mother of God
The Hilliard Ensemble
Tres morillas m’enamoran
Dmitri Shostakovich
Chamber Symphony op. 110 bis: I. Largo
Valentin Silvestrov
I. Postludium ‘DSCH’
III. Postludium

CD 3

Eleni Karaindrou
Closed Roads
Tango of Love
Tom’s Theme
Laura’s Waltz
After Memory
Farewell Theme
Seeking Theme
Nostalgia Song
Requiem for Willy Loman, var.
The Weeping Meadow
Jan Garbarek
Jon Balke / Amina Alaoui
O Andalusin
Ashiyin Raïqin
Rolf Lislevand Ensemble
Passacaglia andaluz II
Passacaglia cromatica
Arpeggiata addio

CD 4

Andrey Zvyagintsev
In The Bedroom
The Road
Final Titles
Wolf (Soundscape)
Nils Petter Molvær
Access / Song Of Sand I
On Stream
Platonic Years
Song Of Sand II
Eivind Aarset
Close (For Comfort)

CD 5

Stefano Battaglia Trio
Euphonia Elegy
Celestial Food
Tord Gustavsen Quartet
Egberto Gismonti
Memoria e Fado(marrom)
Norma Winstone Trio
Like A Lover
Cradle Song (Hoy Nazan)
Jan Garbarek / Egberto Gismonti / Charlie Haden
Carta de Amor
Ralph Alessi
Vassilis Tsabropoulos / Anja Lechner
Trois morceaux après des hymnes byzantins: I.
Trois morceaux après des hymnes byzantins: II.
Colin Vallon Trio
Christian Wallumrød Ensemble
Solemn Mosquitoes
Tomasz Stanko Quartet
Song for Ania

CD 6

Jimmy Giuffre 3
Jesus Maria
Paul Bley / Evan Parker / Barre Phillips
Time Will Tell
Barre Phillips
Mountainscapes V
Old And New Dreams
Lonely Woman
Robin Williamson
The Four Points Are Thus Beheld
Sinikka Langeland
Langt innpå skoga
Frode Haltli
Gary Peacock
Voice from the Past
Steve Kuhn Trio with Joe Lovano
Wadada Leo Smith
Kulture of Jazz
Robin Williamson
The World

ECM 2350-55

Order 6-CD Set

In the winter of 2012/13, the Haus der Kunst in Munich – one of Europe’s most important museums for contemporary art – hosted the exhibition ECM – A Cultural Archaeology. The goal of curators Okwui Enwezor and Markus Müller was to show the range of the label’s artistic endeavours in music, graphic art, and photography and its creative interchanges with film, theatre and literature. For this exhibition, Manfred Eicher and Steve Lake created this box-set accentuating directions in ECM's rich musical history.
Many themes and streams are touched upon here including the range of composition in the New Series, music for and from films, imaginative historical reconstructions, trans-cultural music, ambient minimalism, and jazz and improvisation of many hues, in a collection with a playing time of more than seven hours.

With Heiner Goebbels, Steve Reich, Arvo Pärt, Gidon Kremer and Keith Jarrett, György Kurtág, Tigran Mansurian, Rosamunde Quartett, Betty Olivero, Kim Kashkashian, Meredith Monk, Giya Kancheli, Keller Quartett, Hilliard Ensemble, Valentin Silvestrov, Eleni Karaindrou, Jan Garbarek, Jon Balke and Amina Alaoui, Rolf Lislevand, Nils Petter Molvær, Eivind Aarset, Stefano Battaglia, Tord Gustavsen, Egberto Gismonti, Norma Winstone, Ralph Alessi, Anja Lechner, Vassilis Tsabropoulos, Colin Vallon, Christian Wallumrød, Tomasz Stanko, Jimmy Giuffre, Paul Bley, Evan Parker, Barre Phillips, Robin Williamson, Old & New Dreams, Sinikka Langeland, Frode Haltli, Gary Peacock, Steve Kuhn, Wadada Leo Smith and many others.