... 1 2 3 4
News/Special Offers
About ECM

The Hilliard Ensemble
A Hilliard Song Book: New Music For Voices

The Hilliard Ensemble
David James countertenor
Rogers Covey-Crump tenor
John Potter tenor
Gordon Jones baritone
Barry Guy double-bass
Barry Guy, Un coup de dés
Morton Feldman, Only
Ivan Moody, Endechas y Canciones
Piers Hellawell, The Hilliard Songbook
Paul Robinson, Incantation
Veljo Tormis, Kullervo's message
Gregorian, Adoro te devote
James MacMillian, ...here in hiding
Arvo Pärt, And One of the Pahrissees...
Arvo Pärt, Summa
Elizabeth Liddel, Whale Rant
Joanne Metcalf, Music For The Star Of The Sea
Michael Finnissy, Stabant autem iuxta crucem
John Casken, Sharp Thorne
Ivan Moody, Canticorum I

Recorded March, April 1995, March 1996
ECM New Series 1614
Related Recordings

Order 2-CD Set

The Hilliard Ensemble interpret new works for vocal ensemble. Many of the pieces presented have been written specifically for the ensemble. Includes the music of Arvo Pärt, James McMillan, Morton Feldman and Ivan Moody. "Britain's Hilliard Ensemble dares to stitch together threads of traditions from medieval, postmodern and post-minimalist sources, while avoiding trivialities. The quartet maneuvers with a commanding collective voice, enriched by dynamic sensitivity and masterful way with inflection." -- Los Angeles Times