News/Special Offers
About ECM

Johann Sebastian Bach
Das Wohltemperierte Klavier I

Till Fellner piano
Johann Sebastian Bach
Preludes and Fugues I - XII
BWV 846 - 857

September/October 2002
ECM New Series 1853
Press Reactions
Related Recordings

In his ECM debut, the insightful Austrian pianist Till Fellner sheds new light on the best-known of Johann Sebastian Bach’s works for clavier, the endlessly inventive collection of preludes and fugues often considered one of the sublime monuments of Western music. Fellner shares some musical-temperamental affinities with former teacher Alfred Brendel, and has been praised by the press for his “insistence on putting musical sense and sensibility ahead of idle showmanship”: highly concentrated, very self-possessed, he gets at the heart of the material. “In his manner and his music-making he exudes calm and elegance.” - The New York Times