News/Special Offers
About ECM

Helena Tulve

NYYD Ensemble
Olari Elts
Arianna Savall voice
Stockholm Saxophone Quartet
Sven Westerberg soprano saxophone
Jörgen Pettersson alto saxophone
Leif Karlborg tenor saxophone
Per Hedlund baritone saxophone
Emmanuelle Ophèle-Gaubert flute
Mihkel Peäske flute
Silesian String Quartet
Szymon Krzeszowiec violin
Arkadiusz Kubica violin
Lukasz Syrnicki viola
Piotr Janosik violoncello
à travers
for ensemble

for voice and ensemble
poems by Roland Jooris

for saxophone quartet

for flutes and ensemble

for ensemble

nec ros, nec pluvia…
for string quartet

Recorded between November 1997 and June 2006
ECM New Series 1955

Order CD

First ECM recording from the gifted Estonian composer (born 1972) whose work speaks in its own unique language through a variety of chamber music settings and with a fluid approach to form, sound and sonority. The album begins with her “à travers” for ensemble, which attracted much attention at the 1998 International Rostrum for Composers in Paris and progresses through more recent works including “Lijnen”, with the wonderful voice of Arianna Savall, “Öö” with the Stockholm Saxophone Quartet, and “nec ros, nec pluvia” with the Silesian String Quartet. Tulve has been closely associated with Estonia’s creative chamber group the NYYD Ensemble over the last decade and they deliver committed performances of her work under the direction of outstanding young conductor Olari Elts.