News/Special Offers
About ECM

Eleni Karaindrou
Dust of Time

Sergiu Nastasa violin
Renato Ripo violoncello
Maria Bildea harp
Vangelis Christopoulos oboe
Spyros Kazianis bassoon
Antonis Lagos french horn
Dinos Hadjiiordanou accordion
Eleni Karaindrou piano
Camerata - Friends of Music Orchestra
Natalia Michailidou piano
Hellenic Radio Television Orchestra
Alexandros Myrat conductor
Music for the film by Theo Angelopoulos, with Willem Dafoe, Bruno Ganz, Irène Jacob, Christiane Paul, Michel Piccoli

Le Temps Perdu
Dance Theme Var II
Notes I
Seeking Var II
Waltz By The River Unravelling Time I Tsiganiko I
Dance Theme Var I Seeking
Memories From Siberia Unravelling Time II Notes II
Tsiganiko II
Seeking Var I
Dance Theme
Le mal du pays
Nostalgia Song

January and March 2008
ECM New Series 2070

Order CD

ECM’s recordings of Eleni Karaindrou’s music for films have always been more than “soundtracks”: they stand as independent artworks. So it is with the music written originally for Angelopoulos’s “Dust of Time”. In these intensely melodic compositions created from a delicate balance of instrumental colours, violin, cello and harp are especially important, as Karaindrou notes, “not only because of their own distinctiveness but also because of the inner quality of three participating musicians who live in Greece but were born in Rumania and Albania (Sergiu Nastasa, Renato Ripo, Maria Bildea). The flavour of their own musical tradition (tsiganiko) and of a very special inner feeling, permeates their playing. I had the feeling that the accordion had to pervade certain special moments with its colour; and the oboe should add some emotional touches on the canvas of my music.”