... 2 3 4 5 6 7 ...
News/Special Offers
About ECM

Michael Mantler
The Hapless Child

Robert Wyatt vocals
Carla Bley piano, clavinet, string synthesizer
Steve Swallow bass guitar
Jack DeJohnette drums, percussion
Terje Rypdal guitar
Alfreda Benge speaker
Albert Caulder additional speaker
Nick Mason additional speaker
The Sinking Spell
The Object-Lesson
The Insect God
The Doubtful Guest
The Remembered Visit
The Hapless Child

Watt 4

Compositions by Michael Mantler and lyrics from "Amphigorey" by the fur-swathed Edward Gorey, who writes and draws the "miseries of childhood", comprise "the most bizarre album of Gorey Stories" as the Washington Post wrote. "The Hapless Child" unites Carla Bley on keyboards with Jack de Johnette on drums and Steve Swallow on electric bass with Robert Wyatt's lisping vocals and Terje Rypdal's soaring guitar. "The Hapless Child emerges as an extremely impressive album" - Melody Maker.

Available as download.
Click here to see download options.