... 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 ...
News/Special Offers
About ECM
March 31 , 2010

Manfred Eicher Wins DownBeat Lifetime Achievement Award

ECM producer Manfred Eicher is the recipient of the 2010 Lifetime Achievement Award from venerable US jazz magazine DownBeat. The award was established in 1981, as a counterpart to the DownBeat Hall of Fame, “to recognize the accomplishments and contributions of the jazz pioneers, entrepreneurs and clarion callers who work tirelessly to connect jazz artists with audiences around the world.”

From the May 2010 issue of Down Beat: “Launched in November 1969 with Mal Waldron’s album ‘Free At Last’, ECM boasts more than 1,200 titles in its genre-resistant catalog with a steady flow of 30 to 40 new releases each year, featuring border-crossing jazz, improvisational music, transcultural collaborations and classical (specifically in his ECM New Series, begun in 1984 to record the music of Arvo Pärt). With a track record of scoring million-selling hits such as Keith Jarrett’s ‘Köln Concert’ and Jan Garbarek and the Hilliard Ensemble’s ‘Officium’, ECM continues to forge ahead as the prime purveyor of the luminous art of jazz. For this pursuit of excellence, Eicher is honored with the DownBeat Lifetime Achievement Award, which recognizes his momentous - and unorthodox – contribution to the history of jazz.”
The award follows two consecutive wins for Eicher as Producer of the Year in the DownBeat Critics Polls of 2008 and 2009.

Manfred Eicher gewinnt den Downbeat Lifetime Achievement Award

ECM Produzent Manfred Eicher wurde mit dem Lifetime Achievement Award 2010 des berühmten US-amerikanischen Jazzmagazins DownBeat ausgezeichnet. Der Preis wurde erstmals 1981 verliehen, als Pendant zum Downbeat Hall of Fame, „um die Leistungen und Beiträge der Jazz-Pioniere, -Unternehmer und -Vermittler anzuerkennen, die unermüdlich daran arbeiten, Jazz-Musiker und das Publikum weltweit zu verbinden.“
Nach den Auszeichnungen als "Produzent des Jahres" 2008 und 2009 der Downbeat Kritiker-Umfrage ist der Lifetime Achievement Award der dritte Preis in Folge.