... 1 2 3 4 5 6 ...
News/Special Offers
About ECM
January 15 , 2014

NEA Jazz Masters Fellowship for Keith Jarrett

Keith Jarrett was awarded an NEA Jazz Masters Fellowship, the highest honor America bestows on jazz artists, in an event at Jazz at Lincoln Center in New York City on January 13th, hosted by JALC director Wynton Marsalis and television journalist Soledad O’Biren. Other honorees were saxophonist and composer Anthony Braxton, bassist Richard Davis and educator Jamey Aebersold.

In his acceptance speech Jarrett said “erverybody has a limited lifespan and I wanted to use mine intelligently. I felt that if I had been called to do anything it was to make music.”

The National Endowment for the Arts (NEA) was established by the US Congress in 1965. Each year since 1982 the program has elevated to its ranks honorees who have made exceptional contributions to the advancement of jazz.

The award ceremony was streamed live: http://new.livestream.com/jazz/neajazzmasters14

Additional information: